How To Reinstate Your Suspended Massachusetts Drivers License

Do you need to reinstate your suspended Massachusetts drivers license? The reinstatement process doesn't have to be complicated, but make sure you do it in a timely manner.

Driving with a suspended Massachusetts drivers license is a serious offense with serious consequences. A suspended license can even result in jail time if not reinstated. We've collected helpful information to assist you with everything you need to reinstate your Massachusetts license. Select from the options below to get started.

Sponsored Link Ad

1: Get Started with Online Application Assistance

2: By mail

Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the RMV in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local RMV.

3: Via a RMV office

If your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at your local RMV office. Varying RMV offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the RMV closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your RMV allows you to make a personal appointment.

Reasons for a Suspended Massachusetts Drivers License

Operating Under the Influence - OUI

Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol will result in suspension of your driving privileges for a period determined by the number of similar violations and the time between violations. A suspension due to an OUI may result in at least 180 day's suspension upon your first offense and possibly a lifetime ban for serious offenses. You will also be required to complete an OUI program before your license is reinstated.

Depending on the degree of your violation, you may be able to apply for a hardship license allowing you to drive between school and work. Additional OUIs may result in further suspension.

Not Completing Traffic School

As penalty for a traffic violation, Massachusetts drivers may be asked to complete a court-ordered traffic school course. Failure to complete a traffic course will result in a suspension of your driving privileges.

Failure to Appear on a Traffic Summons or Pay Fine

Also, if you have been issued a traffic summons or a fine, and have not appeared in court or paid the full amount, you may be issued an indefinite suspension of your Massachusetts driver license.

Lack of Auto Insurance

The state of Massachusetts requires that owners of motor vehicles maintain at least a minimum level of car insurance. Failure to have adequate insurance on your vehicle may result in suspension of your Massachusetts driver license for an indefinite period of time.

Inadequate Vision

If your vision is poor and you do not seek some form of vision correction, your license may be suspended indefinitely. You might be able to reinstate your suspended Massachusetts license if you are later able to prove that minimum vision standards are met.

Suspension Due to Accumulation of Offenses

If you accrue too many tickets or surchargeable events on your license in a short period of time it will be suspended for at least 30 days and up to 12 months. These points will remain on your driver record for 24 months, starting from the date of conviction.

Traffic Violation resulting in personal injury or death No OUI

If your traffic violation resulted in death or serious bodily injury, but did not involve Operating While Under the Influence (OUI), your license may be suspended for up to several months.

Helpful Links

Reinstate Suspended Massachusetts License Easy Guide

Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles

Find Your Local Office